A Fan-tastic Day

I wrote an article for Talk Magazine about another part of my art that I haven’t written about here very much: cosplay! This magazine has many thoughtful articles. Please head over and check it out for some good reads.

Talk Magazine

By Jacqueline Peveto

I am a cosplayer. My tools are grommets, super glue, papier-mâché and anything else that might not fit into your average conception of a sewing kit. I spend hours hunching over fabric, ripping out miles of seams, and brainstorming ways to defy physics. When I step onto the floor of the convention hall, I wear a disguise that tells everyone exactly who I am.

jackie comic con Photo by Ariane Peveto

The word cosplay, a portmanteau of “costume” and “play,” is much more than a Halloween costume or dressing up. When someone builds a cosplay and wears it, it speaks to who she is, what kind of person she wants to be. A cosplayer’s job is to become a character. To put on not only that character’s clothes, but also mannerisms and demeanor.

There is a huge difference between buying a bagged costume and creating a functioning set of angel…

View original post 2,370 more words

What Do You Think?

